That’s Not Very Attractive

I remember over a decade ago when a rash of books about the Law of Attraction came out. This idea was very popular for awhile and then like most trends, it went away. So I was surprised to see it in a different guise on the Internet.   I shouldn’t have been surprised.   The internet is home to thousands of crackpot theories. What troubled me is that it is still around.

The version of the Law of Attraction that I saw was promulgated by Carol Tuttle, founder of Dressing Your Truth.   Dressing Your Truth is a fashion program for women and I absolutely love it. I am fashion challenged and this program helped me find my own personal style.   Mrs. Tuttle promotes her other book, Remembering Wholeness, throughout her fashion program. This book is a Law of Attraction user guide.

The Law of Attraction is a belief that you create your own reality by your deeply held subconscious beliefs. There are so many problems with this, that I don’t know where to start. I will address what I see as the biggest evil.

Who does this belief blame for evils big and small? What does the Law of Attraction say about childhood victims of sexual abuse for instance? Carol Tuttle responds to that exact question on page 27 of her book. “As a parent, I can believe that the world is not a safe place for my children and pass this fear onto them. If I do this, I make their chances of being victimized even greater because they will attract those people interested in hurting others. I can empower them by making them aware of contrast, that good and evil exist in this mortal dimension, and teaching them the Law of Attraction—which is that they can choose whatever they want to experience.   If they want to be safe and feel good, then all they have to do is believe and they will attract only that into their lives.”[1] Now, it is not good to make your children fearful by passing on your own fears, but to suggest that victims of sexual abuse caused or desired that experience is nothing short of evil. Perhaps I have jumped the gun and that is not what she means. She quotes another book by Glen Allen called, A Course in Miracles, to further her point. “I am responsible for what I see (perception); I choose the feelings I experience, and I decide upon the goal I would achieve. Everything that seems to happen to me I ask for and receive as I have asked.”[2] Yep, that is what she said.

A common feeling that surrounds victims of sexual abuse, physical abuse, chronic illness and divorce is that they somehow deserved or caused these things. Counselors working with these groups constantly affirm the fact that what happened to them was not their fault. This is an important part of their healing. The Law of Attraction tells victims that they caused it and that they kind of deserved it.

Let’s contrast this with Scripture. “Whoever welcomes one such child in my name welcomes me; and whoever ensnares one of these little ones who trust me, it would be better for him to have a millstone hung around his neck and be drowned in the open sea!” Matthew 18:6 (CJB).   Notice the blame is not put on the victim. Jesus himself refutes this blame-the-victim mentality when He heals a man born blind. ““Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?”

 “Neither this man nor his parents sinned,” said Jesus, “but this happened so that the works of God might be displayed in him,” John 9:1-3.

Carol Tuttle says that the Law of Attraction is compatible with all religions and that it is not a religion itself. Jesus does not agree with her. It is not compatible with Christianity in any way.

255697_226605724024464_4610856_n

Locust & Honey has just started a podcast entitled Applied Apologetics. Our first episode featured Jon Zens, editor of Searching Together and author of Christ Alone and Don’t Forget the Part about the Sheep and the Goats. We talked about Searching Together when it used to be Baptist Reformation Review, the Great Commission, and divorce in the Body of Christ.**

** User may need Music Player for Google Drive installed to listen to MP3 files.

[1] Carol Tuttle, Remembering Wholeness (Seattle, WA: Sea Script Company, 2002).

[2] Ibid.

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

