Apples, Apples and More Apples

P1110823October in the Midwest means it is time to get the rest of your apples off the tree.  We are blessed with 1/2 acre lot in a small rural town.  We try to grow as much of our own food as possible.  I focus on fruit, because my family likes fruit.  We have 3 apple trees.  Two of them we planted just two years ago.  The harvest off our other tree was very good.  So to use up the rest of our apples, I made apple sauce today.  I peeled, cored and cut up 18 apples.  That was enough to fill up my one gallon pot.  I proceeded to fill the pot half way with water and boiled the apples for 20 min (or until soft).  Then I put them in the blender and voila.  Just add cinnamon to taste.  This is the easiest no-sugar recipe in the world.  This made one quart of apple sauce for me.  I had a lot of apples so I made several batches.

I like to listen to audio books while I am doing mindless chores.  Locust & Honey just produced a great book to listen to for Halloween–Cypress Creek.  Teenage Kristy is haunted by memories of the suicide cult her biological parents were part of when she was a child.  Now a series of bizarre events seem to be related to this past.  Can she escape it safely?  This is a scary book.  Enjoy your applesauce and see you next week.

Categories: family life, Halloween | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

